top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Dunlop

ART 181 Project - Personal Project.

Updated: May 16, 2019




Reflecting on the work I previously made for a Portraiture Painting Project entitled 'Me'. This Personal Project enabled me to extend whilst exploring paint, materials and artists of interest. Helping me to relax, refocus and create again; a much needed distraction, during a very difficult time and absence from my studies. I created quick washes of vibrant acrylic paint onto paper and tracing paper, simply choosing my paint pallet as I went along. Then using these to create collages, cutting out shapes, without any thought on size or shape, some pieces I attached to acrylic boards. The results are a combination of bright colour, tone and line, shapes and shadows created from the collaged shapes. I then used coloured tissue paper on acrylic boards and plastic, a different material explored to create and express a 'paint' effect. This had amazing results also. I found this project to have positivity and freedom in my creative choices. Whilst improving my mood, it was something my youngest son was involved with and enjoyed the simplicity of covering the paper with different paint colours. We admired the light and dark effect seen from the different shapes and paint colours when placed upon the window, a stained glass window with the sun light shining through.

My researched artists and inspiration for this personal project have been Elizabeth Peyton, David Hockney, Mark Rothko and Henri Matisse. Also the Fauvism Artist Movement.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page