top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Dunlop

Research ~ DWG151 Contemporary Approaches To Drawing

I have used drawing in my studio practice this semester to examine my work and test ideas, using a variety of drawing materials, which has included 3D and digital media.

Drawing allows me to stop and observe objects closely, to constantly focus, feel and think of what I draw, a time to slow down and train the eye to see. It makes me aware of how things; objects, figures work and operate the space. The patterns used, the story they portray through mark making; expressive, experimentation, allowing growth in my drawing skills. I can be as accurate or free to get my ideas down and gather information.


Phylida Barlow - Siege. And Rachel Whiteread.

Drawing before during and after sculptural works.

Large gestural marks in paint, charcoal.

I find the drawings and paintings themselves occasionally difficult to understand, until I see the sculpture works created.


John Ruskin and Robert Smithson.

Drawing on deep observation of the landscape through sketches and painting.

Ruskin a critique, artist and author of writings 'Modern Painters'. Ruskin's theory is to slow down, look and take in the world around us.

Both artists draw on entropy and geology in there works and use the landscape to sketch and draw on changing environmental concerns.


Richard Serra.

Large sculpture works from/of metal.

Drawing processes to allow him to record and review ideas, similar to Barlow.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page