top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Dunlop

Discarded Materials. Art 180

Updated: May 21, 2019

Debris, damage, past, deterioration, grime, grit, weathered.

Below some metal salvaged scrap pieces that became the focus of the project. I used these as stamps, stencils, molds and to draw from. The photographs have been used digitally and also photocopied and cut out. Using these piece's of metal has really made my project 'come alive'. There has been an influence or constant theme of layering in this project.






Below; Laminated wood panels, from an old desk.

I have experimented using these panels as a painting canvas. Having sanded the wood slightly, the acrylic paint applied seeped into the worn deteriorated areas. Using these photographs I have digitally edited, (some examples below) . The testing of this process will help to further my experiences and strategies in the project.




Revisiting a childhood memory, holding an empty crisp packet in front of a gas fire, watching in amazement as it bubbles, bends, folds and shrinks! Whilst trying not to burn my fingers!) #shrinkys Below I have experimented with different plastic rubbish, layered, to alter and transform the individual pieces. Although, I used an oven instead of a gas fire.





8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Research ~ DWG151 Contemporary Approaches To Drawing

I have used drawing in my studio practice this semester to examine my work and test ideas, using a variety of drawing materials, which has included 3D and digital media. Drawing allows me to stop and

Leonardo da Vinci: A Life in Drawing Exhibition Visit.

Sunderland Museums and Winter Gardens. To mark the quincentenary of Leonardo da Vinci's death, 12 different drawings from the Royal Collection. Showcasing everything from his anatomical studies to the

bottom of page