top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Dunlop

Sculpture....

Updated: Jan 11, 2020

Here I have explored the use of ready made sculpture..


Made from thermoplastic pellets, this man made material is used in the automotive industry to create plastic internal car parts and housing. This 'purging' is scraped from the machines barrel after use to clear away, ready to change to another material or colour. The material is heated up to 280'c during the manufacturing process, therefore once purged from the machine the material cools into a hard lump, taking the shape of the ground it is poured onto with remnants of barrel swirls taking hold.

The material in this hard state cannot be reheated therefore becomes a landfill product.


The purging pieces I have acquired appear as beautiful sculptural works in there own right. Furthermore, using these pieces to explore my practice in drawing, photography, digital video and relief printing has been the main goal of use.





















Sculpture for me is taking a matter and giving it form and meaning. I have the highest level of curiosity in this media and through exploring and understanding the use of materials and their limitations, with an analytic mind I can challenge and satisfy with meaningful results.

Below I have used wire, stainless steel and paper fasteners. I love that sculpture is hands on and tactile. To create things I could pick up with my hands, the physicality; bend, twist, shape, knead has always been my approach to art making that I feel satisfied doing. I think there is a fundamental difference in the creative process of working in 3 dimensions that just feels more...'right' to me.


I usually work to a large scale in my sculptural works. My preference is the same when I go to exhibitions and galleries. There's something about the wow factor on entering a room to be greeted with an expanse of bodily sculpture.

To experience sculpture by walking around, over or through it is appealing to me and would be a consideration to put into my own exhibition works.



The first draft video (below) has been compiled using the still photographs from the plastic purging (above).

The audio and visual elements in my work come hand in hand with the tactile instinct in sculpture. I like to explore new ways of engaging people and exploiting human senses in my designs.

I had mixed reviews during my critique for this video, although I hoped that would be the case!

My intention was always to let the audience find their own interpretation of my work and to enjoy listening to their thoughts on it. The idea of the 'uncanny' and 'alien' really resonates with the work I was trying to create, an emotional response to the unknown. I enjoyed the thought that some of the audience did not know where or what the video was to represent, although the associated purging sculptures where in the exhibition also!

Overall, my video has been successful for my first draft.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page